August 8th, 2012

The older that I get, the less time that I want to spend around people who don’t understand what I’m talking about.  When I was younger, I used to think that people who didn’t understand me were always either right or mean; if I liked and admired them, I thought that it must be that I was saying or doing things that didn’t make sense, and if I didn’t like them then I couldn’t understand why I couldn’t make them understand me.

What was going on most of the time was that I didn’t understand them.  I didn’t know much about the world, or about what people do, how they think, what society’s strengths and weaknesses are.  I always seemed to be specifically blaming myself or somebody else for something.

The older that I get, the more people I understand and the more I appreciate it when I don’t have to make an effort to help someone else understand me.  No matter what it is that I’m trying to get across to someone, whether it’s very important or not, I’m glad when I don’t have to work at making someone else understand me.

One of the many good things about being around people who are my age or older is that, simply by virtue of having lived for as long as we have, there are a lot of things that almost everyone in that age group knows and understands and that go without saying, and that most younger people don’t know.

I’m not calling people who are younger than I am stupid.  There are things that you learn from living year after year that you can’t learn any other way.

When I first started interacting with celebrities and with other people who turned into part of the conglomerate, including people my age and older, I was surprised by how immature and cruel they were.  Cruel behavior is always immature behavior, and they were immature in more ways than that.  On other days and in other essays, I’ve listed reasons for why I think that those people are the way that they are.

Also; nothing guarantees that society will develop in a positive way.  When powerful forces push society in an evil direction, everyone in the society gets affected by it.  Some people will degenerate, no matter how old they are, and many who try not to degenerate will experience the pressure of being attacked by the people who want them to do bad things.  That kind of pressure doesn’t tend to have a good effect on anything in the lives of the people who are being pressured, including their personalities.  It’s difficult to stay friendly and trusting when you’re being abused by a lot of people, including total strangers, every day.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, August 8th, 2012 @ 11:20 a.m.