August 10, 2012

I was sending pictures from my phone to my e-mail this afternoon.  All of a sudden a message appeared on the screen that said “SERVICE NOT ACTIVATED ON NETWORK.”

I tried several times to send a picture-message, and I kept getting the same response, “SERVICE NOT ACTIVATED ON NETWORK.”

I called the customer service number, which is 1-800-922-0204.  Here’s what I heard:

“Welcome to Verizon Wireless.

Your balance is zero dollars and one cent.

You’ll need to add money by November 5th, 2012.

Please make a payment today to renew the calling benefits of your monthly plan.”

I just tried to make another phone call, to a number that I called this morning; I got another message from Verizon saying that there’s not enough money on my account to make this call.

The bill for this phone got paid a few days ago.  I still have the text message from Verizon from a few days ago that confirms that the bill got paid.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, August 10, 2012 @ 2:29 p.m.