August 13, 2012

 
What do you expect me to say?  Do you expect me to say that I think that you’ve been a good President when I don’t think that you have been?  Do you expect me to say that I think that you’ve done more good than harm when I don’t think that, either?

 

 

There is still no law that says that I have to say what you want to hear, nor can there be one if the United States is going to continue to be anything like a real democracy.

 

 
Your personal feelings are not supposed to dictate what the law is or what laws you say that it’s ok for you and for other people to break.  That’s what it means to be a President and not a king, and that’s what the United States as a country is supposed to be; a free country.

 

 
A free country is where people balance their rights and responsibilities with other people’s rights and responsibilities, not a place where the government says that it’s ok to severely abuse people.

 

 
Harassment, stalking, child molestation, threats toward people who disagree with you, and everything about the video issue; all of that is about people thwarting other people’s ability to live normal lives with all of their rights.  It is destructive to true freedom, rather than conducive to it.

 

 

Are you going to try to pretend that what I go through every day isn’t dangerous, or that you haven’t encouraged it to happen?

 

 

Copyright L. Kochman, August 13, 2012 @ 11:47 a.m.