She looked very amused and proud of herself while she was doing that.

Also on that bus; a couple of guys coughed at me once or twice, and there was a guy wearing a shirt that said “Watchmen” on it.  Other than that, there wasn’t any direct harassment by people on the bus toward me that I saw or heard.

I had gone to the back of the bus, both because I like sitting there and because bullies are usually fundamentally cowards.  The farther toward the front of the bus that I sit, the more harassment there tends to be, because people do it from seats behind me where I can’t see them unless I turn around.

The coughing and similar harassment have often been started by one person, and then another is encouraged by that and also does it.  If I’m sitting at the front of the bus, and there are people on the bus behind me who start harassing me, then there are usually people around me who do, too.  I get less abused when I sit at the back of the bus.  I can’t help but think of how resonant of other human rights abuses that is.  The way it goes is this; the abusers say “Accept and live with your secondary social status forever, or be ferociously, acutely abused if you object to that status.”

I like sitting at the back of the bus because it gives me the most space from other people on the bus, and also because I have a tendency toward carsickness, and that’s better when I sit at the back of the bus.  I don’t like that I have to sit at the back of the bus to get the best chance of not being abused.  Not that I like getting car sick, either; I don’t.

Since I started publishing pictures online of people who have harassed me in person, there’s been less of it.  However, it’s not gone, and that’s what I want.  I want it To Stop Forever; nobody should be treated that way.

Copyright L. Kochman, August 24, 2012 @ 5:03 p.m.