August 27, 2012

I was given some numbers from a representative of Citizens Bank last week that I have to use for some online banking.  When I heard them from her over the phone, I asked her to change them and she said “I can’t; they’re computer generated.  You can change them once you’ve used them to log in.”

I might change them today and I might wait until I have some time to think about what to change them to, or I might not change them.  I don’t like dealing with people when I’m trying to get something done that I have to do and they try to make what I’m trying to do about something else; I find their behavior that way unprofessional and annoying, and it takes up my time because I can’t just do what I need to get done.  I often have to write about it online first because if I don’t, the second that I type in the numbers that I have been given and have to use online, the part of the conglomerate that hasn’t already hacked my phone goes crazy with accusations and slurs.

Maybe tonight I’ll try to think of other numbers, and maybe I’ll leave things like this and say “These are the numbers that were given to me by Citizens Bank to use.  I asked the person who gave them to me to change the numbers and she wouldn’t.  I have so many things to do that I never get them all done, and I don’t want to spend time on this.”

 

Copyright L. Kochman, August 27, 2012 @ 4:03 p.m.