August 27, 2012

I saw them about to go up the stairs to the street.  The father was with the little boy.  The mother was behind them with the stroller.  The first picture that I tried to take of the boy’s shirt got blocked by the stroller.

I got around the mother on the steps and took a picture of the little boy.  She was instantly angry, saying “Don’t take pictures of my kid!”

Then she called me a pervert and said that she was going to call the police.

I then answered her, yelling as we got outside the station “That’s right, I’M the pervert.  You’re the ones who have a little kid wearing an “ORTIZ 34” shirt, and I’m the pervert.  You go on and call the police.  You do that right now.”

I did not feel the need to yell “Sarcasm Alert” at the beginning of my answer to her, or “End of Sarcasm Alert” at the end of it.  I felt that my tone of voice was understandable to her and to everyone else within the radius of about half a block.

She’s in the last picture, with the stroller.

This happened this morning, after I left the Women’s Center and had gone to Boston for a while.

Copyright L. Kochman, August 27, 2012 @ 2:05 p.m.