September 7, 2012

Yesterday, I went to On The Rise in the morning.

I’d been in the kitchen for a while and suddenly the fire alarm in the next room went off.

Everyone left the building and went across the street.

The first firetruck that showed up was #5.  Then several other vehicles showed up.  Police tape was put around the fence.  I hadn’t seen any sign of fire in the house or from it after everyone left it.  I thought that it must have been a false alarm and I wondered why all of the vehicles were there, and why it seemed to be taking a long time to resolve whatever was going on.

This morning, someone told me that there had been a bomb scare.  There had been a phone call saying that there was a bomb in the building, and it was a staff decision to set off the fire alarm to get everyone out of the building.

I called On The Rise this afternoon and it was confirmed that there had been a bomb scare.  I was told that the police had searched the house and determined that it wasn’t a valid threat; still, a bomb scare is a bomb scare and serious.

Here’s a picture that I took yesterday morning; On The Rise is the white building on the corner, the one with police tape around the fence.

It’s the best I can do with the picture; it was from a distance and that means that I couldn’t see much of it through the camera screen.

Copyright L. Kochman, September 7, 2012 @ 2:18 p.m.