September 7, 2012

When the fire alarm happened at On The Rise yesterday, I went across the street to the park that’s next to the Cambridge City Hall Annex.

I’d been there for a few minutes when a man walked into the park through the entrance that was closest to where I was.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he had seen me in the park and decided to harass me.  He coughed at me almost immediately, while walking in a direction that would bring him directly past the bench where I was.  I told him not to do that again. He looked at me as he walked by the bench where I was sitting, put his hand to his mouth and coughed even more loudly and right at me.

He kept coughing and I followed him, talking to him about what he had done.  When he saw that I had my camera and was going to take his picture, he started saying “Do you want to go to jail miss?  Do you want to go to jail?”

I took the picture and said “Don’t you ever threaten me with jail again, you piece of s—.”

I give myself a B+ for that one; I lost some points for the second part of the last sentence.

 

I’m including the street sign in the picture because it proves where the incident happened; my assumption is that the addresses listed on it have been what they are since before the conglomerate happened.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, September 7, 2012 @ 2:43 p.m.