September 16, 2012

I don’t choose music that I listen to on the Internet for code purposes, or to send unspoken messages to people.  Unless I publicly and literally write “I’m listening to something to send someone a message,” I’m not doing that.  I have the right to listen to music on the Internet.

I don’t owe anyone explanations of the music that I listen to, especially when I’m not asking anyone to track it.  The only reason that I wrote policies and pages about it is because the conglomerate is unreasonable and invades my privacy.

There are some people who have been off my mind as love interests for such a long time that I may not notice if a song that I listen to is something that might be interpreted by them and others who are invading my privacy on the Internet as a sign that I’m still interested.  That happened a couple of days ago; I listened to one song several times and it was only hours later that I realized that the title of it might have been something that the conglomerate would interpret as my expressing interest in dating someone for whom I have no interest.  Since I’d already written on the day that I listened to that song that I couldn’t worry about every word that was in songs that I listened to, and since I’d been reiterating my music policies and pages recently in the past few weeks, when I realized what the title of the song had been, I hoped that my having recently reiterated what I’d already written about music would prevent the problem.

There was also a song that I listened to a lot over the past few weeks that had a title that had a word that is code for someone, and the title could also have been interpreted as a physical threat toward that person; it couldn’t reasonably be interpreted that way, not really, but, the conglomerate being the conglomerate, I figured I should say something.  There’s nothing in the song that’s threatening at all, in fact the entire song makes it obvious that the non-threatening interpretation of the song’s title is what was meant when it was written.  It was a pre-conglomerate song, by several years.  And no, I don’t want to date the person; I neither want to date him nor kill him.

Whether or not I like a song and how much I like it also has much to do with whether or not I’m going to listen to it.  Of songs that have words in their titles that could be interpreted as code, some I’m going to choose to listen to and do the extra work of reiterating my music policies about, or defending myself about in the next days or weeks when I get attacked over it, and some I can take or leave, or the code words in them that I would otherwise suffer through listening to in the song, knowing that others with cruel and malicious intentions are also listening, I won’t because I don’t like the song or I don’t like it THAT much.

Copyright L. Kochman, September 16, 2012 @ 5:05 p.m.