September 22, 2012

When I got back to the Labor Ready office in Waltham yesterday morning, and heard that there might be more work yesterday, I asked about it and said that I’d be interested.  It didn’t coalesce at that time.  Later, I got a phone call from them asking if I could work again; I was already on the bus to Cambridge when I got the phone call, and I didn’t listen to the message until I got to the Women’s Center.

Last night, I called the Labor Ready number so that I could leave a message saying “Thank you for calling me; I’m sorry that I couldn’t work when you called.”  I got the message center for Labor Ready, and it seemed as if the man who was supposed to take the message kept deliberately and maliciously misunderstanding me.  I don’t know how many times I tried to say to him “They called me and I couldn’t work when they called; please tell them that I appreciate that they called me and that I’m sorry that I couldn’t work.”

He kept saying things like “So when was it that you were supposed to be there?” and “You want to tell them that you’re not available to work?”  This was after he got my name.

I finally said “I’m ending this phone call because it feels weird to me.”

I have no idea what message was given to the Labor Ready office today; what did the message center tell them, that I wasn’t going to show up for work?  That I said I wasn’t available to work anymore?

Copyright L. Kochman, September 22, 2012 @ 2:24 p.m.