September 29, 2012

One of the trucks that seemed to stalk me in Waltham this morning when I was waiting for the bus said “Doody Calls” on the side.  That, and the picture that Yahoo had on its website on September 22nd, with the caption “Duck stamps in extreme excrement,” make me feel more sure that there are in fact hidden cameras in the bathrooms in the shelter in Waltham, and I’ve been seen having to unplug the toilet after having used it.

The toilet gets plugged because I use a lot of toilet paper.  There have been many toilets over the years that I’ve had to unplug because of how much toilet paper I use. 

There’s only one plunger at the shelter in Waltham, and two bathrooms.  If the plunger isn’t in the bathroom that I’m using, then I have to use what’s available to unplug the toilet.  Certainly in the first weeks when I was at the shelter, before anybody there got the chance to know me at all, I wasn’t about to leave a plugged toilet so that I could go to the other bathroom and get the plunger; think of how quickly word of it would have gotten around… gosh, word’s getting around anyway, isn’t it, because there are cameras in the bathrooms. 

I’ve worked mostly menial jobs during my life; a lot of people who end up in the mental hospital when they’re young end up working a lot of menial jobs.   I’ve cleaned a lot of bathrooms during my life, and had my hand in a lot of toilets while doing that.  Putting my hand in a toilet isn’t my favorite thing to do, but I’m not going to faint over it.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, September 29, 2012 @ 10:45 a.m.