October 3, 2012

I think that there’s at least one misperception that I should try to correct.

During the summer of 2011, I wrote online to Zac Efron that, if he wanted to date me, he would have to stop supporting the conglomerate’s agenda, and that, because of how much older I am than he is, I would want him to date other people first even if the conglomerate had never happened and he had never supported anything on its agenda.

At no time did I ever tell him that I thought it was ok if he supported the conglomerate’s agenda.  Over the past year, he did something which I hadn’t expected him to do, which was to throw himself into supporting that agenda and also abusing me so much that I still can’t describe how I feel about it.

Even at times when I was giving him my opinion about his dating options, I tried to make sure that he realized that everything that he did was his decision, and that I wasn’t planning to interfere in his relationships.  I have also said how I feel about the way that I get treated about his options and relationships; that’s certainly my right to do.

Not only am I no longer investing in Zac Efron’s life, I do not at all appreciate being implicated in situations that have to do with other people who are supporting the conglomerate’s agenda, and I most certainly don’t appreciate it when it that implication also has to do with separating people whose relationship I not only had something to do with unintentionally disrupting, but which I have tried to repair.

While I’m discussing responsibility, I’ll say this, too; trying to take responsibility for having disrupted a relationship is not the same thing as approving conglomerate-supportive behavior.  I’ve done what I feel I can do to take responsibility for having disrupted the relationship in question, and feel that I should reiterate that people who are part of the conglomerate or who support it should not expect me to treat them as if we are on the same side of the issues on the conglomerate’s agenda; we aren’t.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, October 3, 2012 @ 4:11 p.m.