October 4, 2012

My music policies and other pages about listening to music were published on my blog a while ago, and to find and read all of them is something that could take some time, so I’m reiterating some of what’s in them as I think of it.

–I consider the tracking of everything that I do online, including tracking of the music that I listen to, to be invasive of my privacy.  I’ve tried to cope with the fact that it happens, and sometimes I’ve tried to use the fact that it happens to do things.  When I’ve tried to use the fact that it happens to do specific things that I’ve thought about first, I’ve tried to be upfront and public about that.  Sometimes, I’ve lost my temper or said how I’ve felt about something.  Sometimes, I write directly on my blog without typing it into a word processing document first; if I’m using a computer that I haven’t used before and that has some glitches, or if I don’t have a lot of time, or if I decide to demand my right to live as if everything that I have and do weren’t being watched all the time.  I don’t like being hacked and tracked.

–“What I feel like listening to” can mean a lot of things; for example, you can be in a bad mood and want to listen to angry music, or you can be in a bad mood and decide to listen to cheerful music to try to get cheered up.  I don’t think it’s unusual for people to make decisions about what music they listen to that way, but, since I don’t have privacy about what music I listen to on the Internet, I’m stating it.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, October 4, 2012 @ 10:22 a.m.