All of a sudden, I’m not able to take the captions from the screen that shows my e-mail, so I’ll give a synopsis of what happened next:

My roommate’s husband started talking about Biblical prophesies with the driver of the car.  Then he asked the driver who (some famous person whose name I don’t remember) the famous person thought the anti-Christ was.  He was serious; he was trying to have a serious discussion about who the anti-Christ might be.  I don’t think that he meant that I was the anti-Christ, but he was having a discussion about who might be.  He continued his Bible talk, mentioning the Dead Sea Scrolls and also I think the end of the world, something about “raining hail mixed with blood.”  He had already started coughing at me as soon as he got into the car, and he did that a few more times before we got to the auction.

There is healthy and normal discussion of religion, and none of what he did today was that.  He continued his unhealthy and abnormal discussion of religion with the driver when we were at the parking lot at the auction before we started driving the cars through the auction.   Then, when the auction was over and we had gotten into the car to drive back to Labor Ready in Waltham, he took out a piece of paper that said “One in Messiah Congregation” and “17 Missing Verses” on it, and that had 17 religious verses on it.  At least 2 of the verses said something about “fire not being quenched”; I noticed those because they were one after the other on the list.  He wrote the names and numbers of all of the verses on a piece of paper and gave it to the driver.  Then he and the driver both started coughing, and the 3rd guy in the car, who was in the passenger seat, put his hand to his nose.

The driver coughed all the way back to the Labor Ready parking lot.  One or more of them kept coughing at me in the Labor Ready office, until I left and went across the street to Dunkin’ Donuts, where I don’t prefer to go but which is the only thing open when I get to Labor Ready in the morning and which was also the only place there was to go this afternoon while I was waiting for Labor Ready to print my check and knew that I wouldn’t be able to stay in the office without getting upset at the guys who were coughing at me.

When the trucks had shown up to stalk me in the morning, some of the other Labor Ready male employees did some coughing.  There had been a few coughs before then, but the trucks prompted more.

Copyright L. Kochman, October 10, 2012 @ 3:04 p.m.