October 15, 2012

I have said before that I can’t worry about going to CVS, even though it’s called CVS.  I think that the last thing I said about that was “Would I get less grief if I went to Walgreens?”   Maybe I would and maybe I wouldn’t; I don’t know where Walgreens is in Waltham.  The CVS is up the street from the shelter by a few blocks, and one of the bus stops is across the street from it.

That CVS has been very unpleasant to go to every time that I’ve been there since I’ve been staying at the shelter in Waltham.  There’s always at least one customer who either follows me into an aisle and coughs or sneezes at me, or who goes to the aisle next to the one I’m in and coughs or sneezes at me from there, or who coughs or sneezes at me from the other side of the store, loudly enough for everyone in the store to hear it.  There are employees of the place who do the same thing, or who have the vacuum going at the front of the store by the time that I walk in the door, or who walk by me with a broom and dustpan, or who rub their noses when they see me.

I also think that it’s worth it to ask the question if they stop stocking some things that I buy after I’ve bought them a few times.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, October 15, 2012 @ 4:00 p.m.