November 1, 2012

A few weeks ago, when I was at one of the Adesa car auctions, I talked to an employee from another Labor Ready office for a while before the auction started.  When I saw him at another auction a few days later, I said “Hi,” and his name.  I called out his name while I was walking through the building, without stopping to talk to him again.

It was either that night or the next day that I saw that there was a news story on TV about a crash in a town that had the man’s first name.  They’d made a harassing news story out of the fact that I’d had a conversation with someone at work and then said “Hi” to him the next time that I’d seen him.

This is not the first time that something like this has happened.  I was stalked during the summer by trucks, about the fact that I’d had a conversation with someone that I met at one of the day shelters; I still get stalked about that person sometimes.  I never saw her again after the first time that I talked to her.   Also; she wasn’t working on the first floor of the building, and, after I’d talked with her that one time, there were signs in front of the elevators saying that the elevators weren’t working and that volunteers had to take the stairs.

What has happened to those people?  Are their phones now tapped? Are all of their accounts hacked?  Are they getting stalked and harassed?

 

Copyright L. Kochman, November 1, 2012 @ 4:32 p.m.