November 7, 2012

Last night, the first thing that one of the women who showed up to facilitate the knitting group at the shelter said was “It’s chilly out.”

I saw that she was planning to sit on the couch next to me and I asked her not to sit next to me.  She didn’t say or do anything else to try to offend me throughout the rest of the time that she was there.

The other one also “It’s chilly” at some point during the conversation that took place over about 2 hours.  She gave an ugly laugh.  She then said something about people getting depressed when it gets colder out.  I said “It’s interesting how it affects people.  Some people get quiet, and some get nasty.”

About an hour later, she said to me, ostensibly about what I was knitting, “You’re whipping through that.”

Both of the women who were there running the knitting group last night are older than I am.  I said “One thing that I like about getting older is that petty things don’t interest older people as much.”

She said something about how it’s good not to let things bother you.

I kept talking about how maturity is a good part of getting older, and that if you don’t have that, you lose the trade-off.

That was the end of her trying to bully me about the videos for that knitting group.

However, things like that, and worse, have been happening to me regularly for months.  The longer that the video issue continues, the worse that treatment of me is going to be.

 

Copyright L. Kochman, November 7, 2012 @ 8:54 a.m.